Can I have a do over?

What do you do when you realize that you have no idea what you want to do with your life?

I started babysitting when I was 11 years old.  It was a big deal.  I loved caring for younger children and since I have a much younger sister and brother I felt very “motherly”.  I enjoyed babysitting and was offered more and more jobs.  I was responsible and enjoyed this new position.  Much later I found myself beginning to think about my future college and possible careers.  My junior year in high school I had an assignment choose 2 careers you are interested in and shadow one of them.  I choose interior designer and teacher.  Teaching was always something I knew I wanted to do so  I decided to choose interior design I ended up going to a business and learned nothing and decided ahh I don’t think so.  By my senior year I decided teaching was my chosen profession.

During college I continued to steer my path toward my goal of becoming a teacher.  No second thoughts no doubts I was positive that was what I wanted to do.  I completed placements in classrooms and after a difficult internship I finally graduated in December.  Finally found a teaching position the following fall as a teacher associate.  After that year the position I had was terminated causing another search for a teaching position. I decided to take a leap and move to Florida and excepted a 3rd grade position.  I will never regret my decision to do that I made a wonderful friend and had some fun times when I was there. However, I was alone and that made my experience difficult.

Now in my fifth year teaching in North Carolina I have found myself in a rut.  I’m feeling teaching is more challenging then ever.  In the last couple years I have started my doubts no longer positive becoming a very negative person.

The life as been sucked out of me.  The path and goals that I started for myself so many years ago doesn’t seem to be the right fit for who I have become.  What do you do when you find yourself at a crossroad? When you have no direction to go?

Image

One thought on “Can I have a do over?

  1. Teaching is certainly not as easy as it was when we met in 2005, huh? Maybe you need to transition into a resource or admin position. There’s a lot of things you can do outside of the classroom. Change is good!

Leave a Reply

